Spirit of Change

by The National Cynical Network

  • Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

     name your price




This unique program/ compilation / mix was made right after, and was inspired by, Barack Obama taking the U.S. presidency in 2008 and seeks to capture the spirit and cultural conversation of that time in all it's hopeful and cynical aspects in a composed narrative.

A Special Thanks and much kudos to GreenLantern and the excellent 'Yes We Can!' remix which for us indelibly defined the musical spirit of that time. It will always be stuck in our heads.

This program is meant to be listened to, and taken, as a whole work, artistic in nature. Subsequently, more derivative tracks are not available separately.

All derived and referenced material used herein is meticulously accredited and/or fragmented / transformed / re-contextualized, and/or remixed from its original form, and is used fairly as a cultural reference in the subtext, and artistic narrative, of this unique 'syntopical' arrangement.

Any proceeds from this work are considered donations to express appreciation for, and to help support, the expenses of the project this program is a part of, and the creative work behind it, and is not a prerequisite fee in exchange for content.

Thank you for listening, and thank you for your support.


released August 19, 2012

Excerpted material in order of appearance in program:

Original Pieces, and Excerpted / Mixed Material from:

- NCN - Program Intro
- Ten Years After - I'd Love to Change the World
- The Youngbloods - Get Together
- Gonzo - A Documentary About Hunter S. Thompson Featuring Johnny Depp
- The Youngbloods - Get Together
- Nine Inch Nails - Leaving Hope
- Mikkey Halster And Tori Amos - King George (GreenLantern Mix)
- NCN - Over The Top
- Crystal Method - Keep Hope Alive (Andy Ling's Re-Coded Dub)
- Anti-Funky - Jump 2007 (Hardknox Mix)
- David Bowie - Changes
- Boingo - Change
- Brian Tracy - Changing Your Thoughts
- Michael Savage / Phil Hendrie / Blazing Saddles samples
- Come Together (By Joe Cocker & Ensemble)
- Usher - Hush (Greenlantern Mix)
- Ray Charles - Don't Change On Me
- The Smithereens - Everything Changes
- Living Colour - Cult Of Personality
- Crystal Method - Keep Hope Alive (BT's Creatine Method Mix)
- NoSound - Hope For The Future
- Tracy Chapman - Change
- Dire Straits - Why Worry
- Brian Tracy - Admitting We're Wrong
- Patsy Cline - Obama For President
**- Steinski + Reverend Lowery = None Shall Be Afraid (Benediction)
**- Bob Dylan - The Times They Are a Changin' (NCN mod)
- Wyclef Jean- Twista, Joe Buden, John Mayer - Waiting 2008 (Mixed by Greenlantern)
***- Frank Sinatra - That's Life
- Oingo Boingo - Try to Believe
- The Who - Won't Get Fooled Again

** Not on 1hr Radio Edit Version
*** Phineas sings this song on Radio Edit Version




feeds for this album, this artist


The National Cynical Network San Jose, California

The National Cynical Network (NCN) is a long-running, SF Bay Area alternate programming media remix project. It originally consisted of a trio of SF Bay-Area based radio collage artists: Phineas Narco, Ronald Redball and Alexander T. Newport. NCN seeks to play *with* music , using sound, and video media samples in the process of media collage or 'mediage'. ... more

contact / help

Contact The National Cynical Network

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code